This weekend was the first weekend I’ve had to really do a whole lot of nothing.  And by nothing I mean, do some well needed housecleaning.  Unfortunately the big spring cleaning I planned was sidelined because of a broken hot water heater on Saturday and then a dead vacuum cleaner.  So I did as much cleaning as I could.  And spent the rest of the time unwinding.  Well, unwinding as much as you can without a hot shower or bath 🙂

I finished reading the two books that I had been reading and I was even able to finally get in to see a massage therapist for my shoulder.  So all in all it was a good weekend.    And now I’m starting a new book – The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff.  I started reading the preface and she talks about Cooperstown!  She was born in Cooperstown.  Cooperstown is a place, that if I had endless amounts of money, I would want to live there.  I love the idea of living in a house that has so much history in it.  And Cooperstown and that area have a lot of history.  Oooo, there’s probably even ghosts….  Perhaps all this love of history and things that have a past  came from my parents taking me antiquing when I was little.  Or that we never did the theme park vacations.  We did more museum type vacations. That sounds kinda dull.  But it never was.  You learn to appreciate everything around you.  Even when we would go up to Camp (Grandpa and Grandma Beauregards “summer home” up in the Adirondacks) we’d still go out and hit the antique stores and Grandpa would take us hiking to all sorts of cool and somewhat hidden places that had a history to them.  I remember hiking to a blast furnace in Newcomb, I think.  And then Grandpa would wait until the sunset and then he’d drive us out to the dump and we’d watch the bears.  Ok, now I know that sounds crazy.  But when the rest of Minerva, Olmstedville, Irishtown and any other folks within a 100 mile radius was there, it was a fun Saturday night.  Especially if you were 7 or 8.

I suppose it’s all those memories that helped shaped me and my design style.  Someone recently told me that the things I made for Sunday Drive Designs was more country and I got really offended.  It took me a long time to figure out why.  I guess it’s not so much country as my way of remembering where I came from and that, 9 times out of 10 we had way more fun without computers, cell phones and ipads.  I’ll admit, a couple of times a gps would have been nice.  But other than that, it’s nice to disconnect from technology and enjoy life… in the slow lane.

 

