Yesterday was the yarn train.  While it was beyond raining in Portland, it was still fun.  I went down to Portland with a group of friends and had to split from them as soon as we go there.  I was on a mission and I was also planning on meeting some friends.  So I set out, the first stop for me was Knit-Purl.  All I wanted was some of the Brooklyn Tweed Yarn by Jared Flood.  And one of his patterns.  And I scored!  I picked up 5 skeins of Shelter in the colorway Button Jar and the Guernsey Wrap pattern.  FYI – If you ever want to get me some yarn, I can always use some Shelter…

Here’s the glamour shot:

Then it was off to Twisted.  This might be my new favorite Portland yarn shop.  I spent the most money here and for good reason.

I seem to have only bought sock yarn here.  I had planned to buy 3 skeins but then one little skein just called to me.  I went there to get A Verb for Keeping Warm yarn (which I got.  It’s Annapurna and the colorway is Transitional Fury). PS – Aunt Nancy, they have a retail location in Oakland… if you’re ever in Oakland 🙂

Then I also wanted to pick up some Black Trillium sock yarn for me and a friend back east.  I absolutely fell in love with the colors.  I bought two skeins of the BFL sock (that’s blue faced leicester wool, for those non fiber folks).  The top color is Merlot (that’s one is for my friend) and Claret (that one is all mine).  It’s so soft and I can’t wait to use it to make the Monkey socks.

And just when I was ready to leave, there it was. The skein of wool yarn that will soon become my warehouse work socks.  The yarn is called Tracie in the Cocoa Heather colorway and it’s from a company called Imperial Stock Ranch Wool.  It is so lovely and wonderful.

Then it was off to Happy Knits for my last yarn purchase of the day.  It may sound a little ocd, but after the first year of going to Portland on the yarn train, I learned that I needed to plan out what yarn I wanted to buy and how much I needed.  And then plan out the route to the stores.  Otherwise you spend a lot of extra money on yarn that you have no idea what you are going to do with it and a lot of time in transit between the stores.  That’s not to say you can’t buy other stuff, I just find it helps keep me on budget and on track with my knitting projects.

I made it over to Happy Knits to buy my 3 skeins of Cascade Eco so I could make my Aidez. When i got there they only had 2 skeins of the color I wanted but the staff was so friendly and helpful that they ended up finding one more skein in the color I wanted!  Thanks Happy Knit!

Then it was off to Powell’s City of Books.  I walked away relatively unscathed.  I only bought 3 books.  One knitting book and 2 Georgette Heyer novels – all bought used, of course!

And then it was off to meet up with a friend.  We grabbed some coffee, did a quick swing thru Dublin Bay Knitting, but by the time I got there, it was pretty well picked over.  I suppose that was good for me.  I didn’t have any more room in my bags or need any more yarn!   Then it was off to pizza at Hot Lips in the Pearl District.  I love there pizza.  Unfortunately someone else got to the last pieces of hazelnut, broccoli and squash pizza before I did.  I suppose it didn’t really matter, I really love their pizza.  And after that my friend and I walked to the train station, where she took the bus home and I took the train back.  All in all it was a good, but really soggy day.  Thanks Portland!  Thanks Snohomish Knitters Guild for putting this all together.  And extra special thank yous to the yarn shops!  See you in August for Sock Summit!

Whoops!  I forgot about showing the bags that we got and all the goodies in it!  So here it is:

