I was planning on blogging last week, but midway thru the week I got a nasty cold.  Fortunately after a day of non stop sleeping and another day of sleeping and knitting, I feel much better.  But I’ve got a lot to catch you up on!

Mom’s sweater is coming along nicely.  I’ve finished the biggest part of it – the back piece.

It’s moving much faster now that the back is done.  I realized that I need to knit something that has some shaping or is challenging.  This is what I call tv watching knitting. I can do it without even thinking.  Now that I think about it, that’s not bad.

I also had a run to Goodwill – my favorite place.  I promised a friend a cake or pie (her choice) as her bday present.  And today I finally got around to making it. Whenever I make a pie or cake or anything like that to take to a friend, I will always make a trip to Goodwill to pick up a cheap plate or platter to put what I make on it.  This way I never have to worry about getting my plate back.  This time I grabbed a large plate and put the Honey Bee Cake on it.  Complete with albino honey bees 🙂  I didn’t have time or food coloring to be able to color them.

This is the second time I’ve made this cake and I gotta say it’s a huge hit.  And it’s so incredibly sweet and it’s really dense.  When I cut the cake up, it was almost like I was cutting thru a frozen ice cream cake!

Of course, when I’m at Goodwill I have to look for other hidden treasures.  I always give myself a price limit and a total cost limit.  I scored big this time around.  I went to the books and found this beautiful little book called From Friend to Friend.  I believe the whole book was letterpressed.  Or it was printed on one really old press.

All the pages have this beautiful floral design at the top and bottom of the page in a purple-ish color.

Here’s a closer look

It’s just a beautiful book and it only cost me a dollar!

I also picked up a couple of sweaters.  One is an REI sweater that I got for $5 and it’ super lightweight but warm.  Perfect for fall.

The second sweater is a Land’s End cardigan 100% wool.  Also perfect for fall.  It has a hole in the pocket, and a small hole in the back.  Both are easy fixes for me.  Worst case, I felt the hole in the back… and no one will be any wiser!

And the last sweater I got was a sweater by Tiara.  I have 3 other sweaters by this company that I also picked up at Goodwill and I love them.

I also picked up a pin that I’ll be using for a sweater closure.  When I was back east, I was saying that I wanted to knit up the Traveling Sweater by Blue Moon Fiber.  Mom and I went to Ross and there it was!  The same sweater, in much lighter yarn.  But it was the Traveling Sweater!  Mom ended up picking it up for me.  I get tons of compliments on it every time I wear it.  I just felt like I needed something to keep it closed if I wanted to wear it closed instead of opened.  I thought a cute little pin would do the trick.  At first I thought something a little flashy with rhinestones and such, but then I found this

And just fell in love with it.  I’ll still keep my eye out for a flashy one, for when I want to dress it up.

That was it for Goodwill.  At least for this weekend 🙂

I pulled down some of my yarn this weekend looking for something to make a cowl with.  I’m hoping the cowl will keep me warm this winter in the warehouse.  So I pulled out the yarn that my sister from another country  (Mel) sent me.  I love this yarn and I’ve been waiting for the right thing to use it on.  And I think I might use it for the Destroyed Cowl.  I know, it doesn’t sound good, but it’s pretty darn cool looking when you wrap it twice and I think it will look great in this yarn.

I also went to the EtsyRain pre holiday show.  It was a great show.  I’m sad that I decided not to apply to get into the show.   They had a ton of great vendors and I wish I had a ton of more money to spend on all the good stuff that was there!  I did walk away with some lollipops from the wonderful folks at This Charming Candy.  Thank you for keeping me all sugared up!

