I love Nigella Lawson.  This is the first time I’ve tried any of her recipes.  I baked the Honey Bee Cake.  First, let me say, I’m so happy that I have a KitchenAid stand mixer (thanks Santa!).  And second, I wish that I had bought the chocolate in small bits.  On the plus side, I did get to work out a few “issues” by hammering the heck out of a large block of chocolate.  As I was baking this, the entire apartment smelled like chocolate and sweets.  It was like living in my own personal Willy Wonka factory minus those slightly scary Ooompa Loompas.

The cake was a bit of a pain as far as the chocolate.  Next time I think, instead of buying a thicker brick of chocolate from Big John’s PFI (which was on the higher quality side of things and you can taste the difference), I might just go with the grocery store brand blocks of chocolate.  Sidenote: Big John’s PFI might be my new favorite specialty store.  They had cavatelli!  Granted it wasn’t made out of ricotta cheese, but it was the first time I’ve seen them out here.

I haven’t made the sticky honey glaze.  Since I’m planning on taking this to work tomorrow, I’m wondering if I can make it and save it and glaze it tomorrow.  Well, I’ll let you know what I decided tomorrow.

