I’ve been taking a sweater pattern drafting class for the past couple of weeks.  And I’ve come to one conclusion… my grandma was a mathematical whiz.  Grandma would use patterns, but now that I know more about knitting, I think she just used them as a starting point.  She would then calculate everything so that it fit who ever she was knitting for.  Yesterday we spent the entire class figuring out stitch counts, cast on numbers, increases, decreases and everything else you could possibly imagine for a drop shoulder sweater.  A drop shoulder sweater is a boxy type of sweater.  For lack of a better term, 80s over sized sweater.  The math for figuring everything out is not hard.  It’s just your simple adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing.  But after awhile my brain started to get all foggy and I’m not sure how I did it, but I made it thru the class and got all the correct numbers.  While being able to do the math is one thing, actually putting it to use is another.  For me, if I don’t put the information to work, it’s useless.  Hopefully after the class is done, I’ll have time to put it all to good use.  But until then, I am convinces that grandma was a mathematical superfreak.

