I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts recently while at work.  And after listening to a few I got to thinking, “maybe I should do a podcast?” But what would I talk about?  I mean, a podcast has to have a direction.  And then I got to thinking, what makes a good podcast?  To me, some of the best podcasts are more conversational.  I feel like I’m a part of the conversation.  And the person talking to me isn’t still sounding or speaking slowly and deliberately because they read somewhere  that you need to speak slowly and clearly.  Those podcasts make me feel like I should be riding the small bus to school.

Then I took a look at my favorite podcasts:

Pheddippidations by Steve Runner – a podcast about running.  I like it because Steve makes me want to go out and run.  He has his bad days when he doesn’t run as well and as far as he would like and other days are great days. And he talks about his life.  It’s not just about running.  And I like that.

Cast On by Brenda Dayne – a knitting podcast.  Like Steve Runner Brenda talks about her life and her good and bad days of knitting.

Craftlit by Heather Ordover – a podcast that combines craftiness and literature.  Which, may sound like a strange combo, but some of us crafty people enjoy being crafty and enjoy literature.  I’m relatively new to Heather’s podcast, but what I’m hearing, I’m really enjoying.

The Vinyl Cafe by Stuart Mclean (not so much a podcast but the digital downloadable version of the radio show).  Stuart is a master storyteller and there’s nothing better than getting lost in a good story.  Not to mention, he knows his music and his musical guests are always top notch.

The Ricky Gervais Podcast by Ricky Gervais, Steven Merchant and Karl Pilkington – I can’t tell if I love this podcast because I’m a  huge fan of Ricky Gervais and Steven Merchant or if it’s because I can’t believe someone like Karl exists in the world.

Then as I take a closer look at these podcasts, I realize that there a few common threads.  They all start with a theme and work out from there.  They may stray from the theme of each show, but they always make it back.  And the other common thread is that they are all conversational in style and I really like that.  If they’ve scripted everything out, I’d be surprised.  But if they did, they did a great job of making it not seem that way.

So I’m asking, what makes a good podcast in your eyes?  And what would I podcast about?

And on to the knitting.  I started the French Braid Pullover from the fall 2009 Interweave Knits shortly after I bought it.  And for some reason, I messed up the sleeve.  So I had to rip it out and I just never got back to it.  So as a small diversion from the shawls for a week, I decided to pick it back up and hopefully finish it.

Here’s a couple of shots:

And here’s the sleeve

And a close up of the cable detail

The color of the sweater is best shown in the first photo.

