I started the weekend with a bang.  I headed off to the grocery store after work on Friday to get all the supplies I needed to make two batches of chili.  When I got home, I decided to prep everything the night before and then just drop it all in the slow cooker on Saturday.  I hate leaving the slow cooker going when I’m going to be out for a whole day.  So I decided to run some errands in the morning and then start the slow cooker when I got home.

I had to hit the farmers market for pie supplies – apples and pears.  I found some great asian pears and a mix of some really good tasting apples.  I also picked up a spiced pear jam/spread, which has a taste similar to a spiced apple sauce.

Then, i headed over to Weaving Works to pick up a skein of Cascade 220 so I can finish up a project that I’ve been working on for way too long.  I was also hoping that they would have their spring class schedule out and they did!  So I signed up for their class about how to alter a pattern to work with specific measurements or different yarns.  Something I have been wanting to learn how to do.

After that, I thought i would just do a quick spin thru Red Light Vintage.  I tried on a cute red with white polka dots dress and it fit great.  So I picked it up for about $20.  Which I figured was a darn good deal.

I headed out and went to visit some friends and have a little lunch and after that it was back to the house to get the chili going and to make some pie crust.

I tend to make the pie crust dough the night before and then keep it in the fridge.  I could be full of it, but for me it seems to make the dough a bit easier to work with.  Once that was done, it was time to get back to knitting and watching bad tv.

Today I got up and got the second batch of chili going and then I headed out to knitting.  Once knitting was over, I headed back home for round two of pie baking.  I decided to make an apple pear pie.  Thanks to Kate over at Art of the Pie, I had an apple pie recipe.  So I worked from that recipe with a few additions.

Here’s where I decided to head to the computer and check out ebay.  Kate had a couple of Veg-O-Matics to help with the chopping up of the apples.  I had to bid on one.  After coring and cutting all those apples and pears, I think it might be worth it.  And now one will be on it’s way to me, hopefully tomorrow!

So now that the top crust is on, I needed to cut a few vents in the top crust and do an egg wash over the top.

That’s right I cut a heart shape vent into my pie.  All freehand.  No stencil cutter here.  What can I say… I went to art school.  I have to use my talents somehow.

And here’s the final baked pie.

Not bad for an amateur.  I really need to ask Kate where she got those really great wire pie rack/cooler stands…

And now it’s time to sit back and relax and watch 39 Steps on Masterpiece Theater.

