After work I headed over to West Seattle to C & P  Coffee ( a cool little coffee joint) for the Seattle Yarn sponsored knit night.  I met up with all my ladies from our Tuesday night knitting group and a few other West Seattle knitters.  It was a lot of fun. We got an envelope with a knit hat pattern coupon for 10% off our next purchase at Seattle Yarn.  The fine folks over at Seattle Yarn held a raffle for some great prizes.  The money collected for the raffle tickets was donated to Northwest Hope and Healing.  Since a few members of my family have had breast cancer, I had no qualms about donating money.  Besides, I could win some yarn!  And I did win some yarn!  I won 3 skeins of Malabrigo lace yarn in the Purple Mystery colorway – enough yarn to knit the Geodesic Cardigan in the newest issue of Knitscene magazine, which was also including in my winnings.  I have been wanting to knit this pattern, but just kinda put it on the back burner.  But now that i have the yarn, who knows… maybe I’ll do it after the Ravelympics.

Tomorrow morning at 8am, I start learning the art of the pie, from the master.  I’ll be sure to take plenty of pictures and even more notes.  And speaking of baking, a friend sent me a link to the Riverfront Times.  Someone decided to make some of the recipes in the vintage cookbooks.  Thank God someone else did it.  My personal favorite, Prune whip (number 3 on the list).  If anyone comes across Body Building Dishes for Children, pick it up and send it to me.  I need it in my collection.  I’m going to start trolling ebay for it.

