I’m not a huge winter Olympics fan, so I don’t get too excited about all of the games.  But the one thing I look forward to when the Olympics comes around is, the knitting Olympics! It was originally started by the Yarn Harlot (PS, I’m huge fan of the Yarn Harlot) and has since moved over to Ravelry.  So I decided to participate in the games this year.  I’m on a couple of teams (Team S.P.E.W – a Harry Potter team, Team Austentatous – a Jane Austen team, and I think, Team Sox Knitters – a Red Sox team) and I haven’t been able to nail down what events I want to enter.

Before I run down the events and patterns I’m thinking about, let me back up a bit and explain how this all works.  Basically you start your project (cast on) as soon as the opening ceremonies start and what ever events (or in this case, projects) that you have entered need to be finished by the end of the closing ceremonies. You can enter as many events as you want.

So, I’ve been thinking about the events that I might want to enter.

OK, so here’s the list of events:

  • Aerial Unwind eventaerial (Frog those poor unloved projects to reclaim that yarn. (This event only: requires a WIP or FO pic and frog pile pic)
  • Bag Jump eventbagjump (Bags, totes, pouches)
  • Beading Biathlon eventbead (All things beaded and embellished)
  • Bobsled eventbobsled (All things pets)
  • Cable Cross-Country eventcable (All things cables)
  • Charity Curling eventcharity (Projects for charity)
  • Designer Biathlon eventdesignerbiathlon (From a swatch to published pattern in 17 days sample completed and pattern released on ravelry – swatching allowed before torch lit)
  • Designer Original Dance eventdesignerdance (Create your own design sample from scratch in 17 days {swatching allowed before torch lit}; pattern need not be written])
  • Designer Pattern Skeleton eventdesignerpattern (Create a publishable pattern (sample can be already knit); do what you feel is necessary to produce a publishable pattern testing, editing, etc)
  • Downhill Dyeing eventdyeing (dyeing yarns – this will only create stash)
  • Felting Freestyle eventfelting (All things felting and fulled)
  • Fleece to FO Long-Track eventfleece (Start with fleece or roving and create a finished object)
  • Flying Camel Spin eventflyingcamel (Just spinning…lots and lots of spinning)
  • Free Dance eventfreedance (Don’t fit into any other event? This is for you)
  • Giant Slalom-ghan eventgiantslalomghan (Afghan, blankets, throws)
  • Hat Halfpipe eventhathalfpipe (All things hats and heads)
  • Holiday Jump-Start Skiing eventholiday (Projects to be gifted/given in Dec 2010 and holiday-themed items; also any gift-giving projects qualify here )
  • Junior Olympics eventjunior (garments/accessories for kids and babies {toys have their own event})
  • Labyrinth Weaving eventweaving (All things woven)
  • Lace Luge eventlaceluge (Lace patterns and laceweight yarns)
  • Mittens Moguls eventmittenmoguls (Mittens, gloves, anything that covers hands/wrists/arms)
  • Nordic Colorwork Combined eventnordiccolorwork (Colorwork, intarsia, fair isle)
  • Platter Lift eventplatter (Home and décor projects)
  • Samalog Machine Skate eventsamalog (Machine knitting)
  • Scarf Super-G eventsuperg (Scarves, cowls, neckwarmers, smokerings, scarflettes…all things neck)
  • Short Track Shawls eventshorttrackshawls (Shawls, stoles, wraps, shawlettes)
  • Single Skein Speed Skate eventspeedskate (Projects of just one skein/hank)
  • Skelegurumi eventskelegurumi (Toys and amigurumis)
  • SnowCross eventsnowcross (Projects that combine knitting, crochet, needle-felting, embroidery, sewing …; minimum of 2 crafts combined together)
  • Sock Hockey eventsockhockey (All things socks and slippers)
  • Stash Compulsory Dance eventstashdance (Use of long-neglected stash purchased at least 1 year ago)
  • Sweaterboard Cross eventsweaterboard (All forms of sweaters, vests, cardis, pullovers, boleros)
  • WIPs-Dancing eventwipsdancing (WIPs/UFOs and only these; Projects not touched since Jan 12th)
yeah.  That’s a lot of events.  But I was thinking about entering in two or three events.  The cool thing is, is that one pattern may fall into a couple different events.  For example, I may have a sweater that I want to do that has come color work, cable work and lace work in it, so that would put it in four events.
I was thinking I could knock out a couple of baby sweaters and possibly a toy of some sort.  Or I could try and get one sweater done.  So the question is, what do I want to knit?
I was thinking about knitting up a couple of this super cute Baby Sophisticate sweaters and maybe some Milk and Cookies.  Or perhaps maybe I’ll unravel another one of my Goodwill aran knit irish wool sweaters, and give the Killybegs pattern a shot.
I suppose I’ve got until Thursday to decide…
