I didn’t think I’d really fall for lace knitting, but I did.  I think it’s the challenge of it all.  A lot of lace knitting patterns are not written like an easy sweater pattern.  Everything is charted out.  If it wasn’t, the pattern would end up being the size of a small novel.  So the chart is a visual pattern. Every stitch is written out and a strange hieroglyph.  It’s a bit overwhelming when you first start out.  But after a couple of rows of chart reading you start to get the hang of it.  At first, I thought that I would only be able to work on my shawl when there were no distractions – no tv, no computer, no radio, no cats.  Just me, my knitting and the chart.  But once I started going on it, I found out that it’s no different than any other pattern.

And after having a few little setbacks with Ene’s Scarf, I’ve finally gotten the hang of it and I’m cruising along.

That’s the chart I’m currently working on.  It’s chart 3 of 4 and I’m on the 3 repeat (out of 5) of it.  And according to the percentage completed by row chart (that I have recently become obsessed with) I’m about 70% done.  I would, love to have this done by the time the Olympics rolls around.

Here’s a closer detail of it.

I have a feeling, once I block this, it’s going to be huge.  It’ll be great for whatever goes on in the evenings this spring and summer.

Now the next question is, what’s my next lace project going to be?

Should it be the Percy Shawl? Maybe the Bitterroot shawl? Or what about Haruni?

