This weekend we had a long run on Sunday.  I was really looking forward to it.  And about 2/ 2 1/2 miles into our 10 mile run, I had some serious knee pain.  I tried to walk it out and massage it out.  But nothing worked.  So today I went to the doctor.  It turns out that I’ve got what’s known as patellofemoral syndrome.  Which means that I need to do some rehab on it.  I’ve got a few exercises to do to strengthen the muscles around the knee.  But this means that I can’t do the race.  I was real upset yesterday.  Not because I was going to have to pull out of the race, but because I was actually enjoying running.  It was like therapy but without having to pay at the end of the hour.  Running helps me clear my head.  It also helps me sleep.  I’ve never slept better.  So now I’ll be switching back to more swimming and less running for the next 6 weeks.

At the end of the 6 weeks, I think I’ll definitely be signing up for a barefoot running clinic.  I know it’s not the shoes that screwed up my knee, but it would be nice to start fresh and incorporate a little barefoot running into my training.  I guess I’ll have to pick another half marathon sometime in the future.  Maybe I can find one that’s super cheap and has absolutely no hills 🙂

I guess that this leaves more time for NaNoWriMo.  So far I’m at 14k words.  It’s going pretty well.  I’m hoping that I don’t burn out.  I’ve been writing about 1900 words a night.

