Today was our long run day.  We started with a quick 15 minute fitness assessment.  We had to run around the track at our normal run pace.  At the end of 15 minutes we recorded the number of laps we had. I had gone 5 laps ( 1 1/4 miles).  Then it was off for our 9 3/4 mile run.  I started strong and felt great.  By the time I got to around the 5 or 6 mile mark, I was starting to ache.  So I ended up doing a fair amount of run/walking for the last 3 miles or so.  But  I finished it.  I did it in about 2 hours.  So not bad for someone who doesn’t like to run.

I’m a little worried about my knee.  It’s a bit stiff and achy.  I took some advil and I hope that will calm it down at bit.  After all that pain, I really want to try some barefoot running and see if that helps.  I would definitely use it in my training.  I don’t know if I’ll ever run a full race barefoot, but I think you need to try everything out to see what works for you.   It can’t be all that bad if the NY Times is writing about it…

