This morning was the first day of training for the marathon.  I didn’t really run so much as walk with two friends.  Hopefully on Thursday I’ll be running.  I think we decided to walk because we weren’t sure we could keep up the running pace.  Tomorrow after work, I’m heading to the pool to get a workout in there.  I may even run down to the pool.  It’s only a mile and a half and I’m pretty sure I can handle that.

I’ve also signed up for a crazy thing that happens during the month of November – it’s the National Novel Writing Month.  So I’m taking the National Novel Writing Month challenge.  The challenge being to write a novel (50,000 words) in a month.  I’m not expecting it to be a good novel.  Nor am I expecting it to be even close to 50,000 words, but I kinda felt like I needed a creative challenge too.  I think the fall and winter months here make me want to do very little.  And I often wonder if that makes me get a little depressed.  I’ve found that if I keep busy, doing things I enjoy and have a goal to get to, I handle the winter months a lot better.

And on the knitting front, I’m almost finished with the body of my french braid sweater and then it’s on to the sleeves.  So far it’s going well.  We’ll see how the sleeves go.  I’ve never actually attached sleeves the way the pattern says to.  So it’s another challenge in a fall and winter filled with challenges!

