I did my weigh in today.  I gained 2 tenths of a pound.  I’m upset but I’m not giving up.  Considering I had several opportunities to have large amounts of pie I don’t feel too bad.  I know I made some bad choices and it shows.  So I hit the supermarket on the way home and grabbed some veggies and fruit.  Two things that are constantly lacking in my diet.  As a kid I hated most veggies.  I believe my mom called me the starch queen becausethe only things i would eat were pasta and breads.  I’ve ventured out since those days, but I still have issues with veggies and fruits.  So I picked up some baby carrots and spinach.  Then I grabbed some bananas, cherries and a cantaloupe.  The cantaloupe i cracked when I got home.  I’ve been craving something sweet and I was hoping that the cantaloupe would hit the spot and it did not dissapoint.  Unfortunately it was a $3 cantaloupe so that won’t be happening every other day.  But for now it was a great treat.

It’s been a full moon the past couple of days and when it’s a full moon I seem to have problems sleeping.  So I’ve been reading.  The past couple of days I’ve been reading The Mad Ones: Crazy Joe and the Revolution at the Edge of the Underworld by Tom Folsom.  It’s not a book I would have reached for without having seen the author on the Daily Show.  I put in in my queue at the library and it just became available this past weekend.  It’s about the Gallo brothers in Brooklyn in the ’60s.  This book reads more like a novel then it does a non fiction work.  So far it’s been a great read.

And with all the talk of the death of Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett and Michael Jackon, I regret to add another American Icon – Oscar Meyer.  He’s the one who should have had the huge memorial show at the Staples Center.  I mean, how can you say his name without singing, “Oh I wish I were an Oscar Meyer wiener…”  Or “My bologna has a first name…”  Have a wiener in honor of the king of wieners – Oscar Meyer.  R.I.P. Oscar Meyer.

