The work day today seemed exceptionally long.  Maybe because I’m a bit overworked and it’s been rather warm around these parts.  So I decided to leave at a normal time and go for a swim before our potluck dinner with the training group.

The lake temperature was perfect.  I wanted to swim a half mile – mile but I ended up just taking it easy, floating on my back, watching the resident eagles flying around.  It was perfect.  After that we had out potluck dinner with training group which was a blast.  Then I get home and check email.  I got the best email ever!

I had answered the KUOW/Nancy Pearl survey to get book recommendations from my librarian hero (that would be Nancy Pearl).  And today I got a response back!  I’m super excited to get all moved into the new place and curl up with the books that she recommended for me.  Ok, maybe it was not just her that responded but all the interns from the UW iSchool.  But still, it’s like when you were in 3rd grade and they made you write to say, the president and you actually get a letter back!

So here’s what she wrote back.  (I can’t remember what I responded to her survey but I’m excited to get started on these books.) Just as a side note here, maybe, if you’re looking for something on the cheap to get for my birthday, perhaps a book from this email might be nice 🙂  And I don’t mind if you get the book at Half Price Books – it’s a way to go green and recycle.

Hi Becky,


Thank you for filling out the  “Why do I like the books I like” survey on KUOW’s website.  This response is a collaborative effort of Andrea Gough, one of my students at the ISchool at UW, and myself.  Please let us know what you think of these suggestions, and, if you do read any of them, what you thought of it.


Looking at your responses, it seems as though you like books with strong plotlines that pull you right in, keep you reading, and indeed are so engaging you continue to think about the characters involved after the book ends. Based on that, and since you really enjoyed the Pink Carnation series, check out The Blackstone Key, the first book in a trilogy by Rose Melikan that takes place in a similar time period as the Pink Carnation series and has a strong mystery component to keep things exciting. Another historical mystery series is the Sebastian St. Cyr series, by C.S. Harris – the first book  is What Angels Fear. Other suggestions are The Monsters of Templeton, by Lauren Groff, which features a modern academic researching back to solve a family puzzle; and Lie by Moonlight, one of many good historic mysteries by Amanda Quick, which also features an occasionally steamy romantic interlude. And if the Amanda Quick piques your interest, you might also try Seattle writer Julia Quinn – her new book is What Happens in London.

Best, Nancy
