Today I went to my friend’s father’s 70th birthday party.  He’s a big fan of ragtime music and he and his wife, among other things collect music boxes.  But not your typical music boxes.  They collect the large full scale music boxes that are the size of a bookcase or a cabinet.  Ones like on this website.  They have one that is of Josephine Baker doing the banana dance when it plays.  They are truly an incredible work of art and mechanics.   One of the things that he wanted for his birthday party was a ragtime mini concert.  One of their close friends is a Ragtime/Early Jazz pianist.  So he played for us all.  He was amazing.  Not only did he play (all from memory – meaning no sheet music) but he would also give us some information about what he was about to play and some background information.  I spent the whole time fascinated by his fingers moving over the keys. (Here’s where the what I learned today part comes in)  What I realized is that I tend to see things as photographs or as small film vignettes.  While he was playing I wanted to set up my camera and take photos of his fingers moving around the keys.  I wanted to turn the camera around and take pictures of the faces of the people watching.  While I know I’m apart of what’s going on, sometimes it feels like I’m just documenting what’s going on or even directing what’s going on and what I to be seen and other times I feel like I’m the lead actor in the piece.   Looking back, I think I’ve always been like this.  I’m not sure if that’s a product of an overactive imagination or if it’s just that the creative piece of me is bigger than the logical/scientific side of me.  Or perhaps it’s just part of being one of the first kids to really have been a part of the tv generation.  I think I really need to have a camera locked and loaded and ready for anything… and not be afraid to take the shot or ask someone if I can take the picture.

