It started just – at Safeco field for a Mariner’s game and Ichiro Bobblehead night!  I am now the proud owner of an Ichiro bobblehead.  And after the game, I have no idea where my weekend went.  The next thing I knew I was getting up for work this morning.  This weekend went by way too fast.  I need one of the great 3 day holiday weekends.

Recently in the news in Spokane is looking at a humane way to deal with the squirrel problem at the Finch Arboretum.  They came up with the Rodenator. If you don’t know what the Rodenator is, it’s basically sends a combo of gas and oxygen into a burrowing rodent type animals and that’s followed by a spark.  Do you remember Caddy Shack?  Yeah….

Ok here’s what i love about this video – they call it humane.  You’re blowing up an animal.  How humane is that. I’d be willing to be there’s a section in the Geneva Convention about blowing up people and that being cruel and unsual punishment. So how humane is it if we do it to animals?   I also love the comments as they’re blowing stuff up – “whoa… that was a good one!” or “Awesome!”  I’d also like to point out that the guy selling the product talking about “stripping the nuts off it.”  Now I know he was talking about a tree, but it’s still funny when I guy says, “stripping the nuts off it.”  I suppose I’d probably want to blow stuff up it something was stripping my nuts off.

I see this getting into the wrong hands – the Beavis and Buttheads of the world.  They might have a rodent problem at the trailer park and Beavis and Butthead are gonna take matters into their own hands… There goes the trailer park!  I suppose that could be considered natural selection at that point.

If only this were around when my grandfather was battling the squirrels at camp.  It makes me believe that, while the Red Green Show is no more, their spirit lives on in inventions like the Rodenator.

