This week’s homework assignment – with a prize! – is a simple cipher of a quote from Half-Blood Prince. CVMMT GJJFZY VMJPIY; OCZMZ RVN BDIIT MPIIDIB OJRVMY CDH; NCZ CVY V CVMY, WGVUDIB GJJF DI CZM AVXZ VN NCZ OCMZR CZM VMHN VMJPIY CDH. VIY RDOCJPO OCDIFDIB, RDOCJPO KGVIIDIB DO, RDOCJPO RJMMTDIB VWJPO OCZ AVXO OCVO ADAOT KZJKGZ RZMZ RVOXCDIB, CVMMT FDNNZY CZM.

Sure, easy for you to say.  Here’s what I’m realizing about this recent homework assignment –  I will never be a code breaker in Dumbledore’s Army.

Here’s what I think it says –

Snape running wildly; smacked right into  the arms of Delores Umbridge; who had been lying in wait for him.  And before Snape knew it, Delores had swept him, literlaly off his feet and planted one heck of a kiss on him.

Apparently some of my other classmates got this as the answer –

Harry looked around; there was Ginny running toward him; she had a hard, blazing look in her face as she threw her arms around him. And without thinking, without planning it, without worrying about the fact that fifty people were watching, Harry kissed her.

I was way off.

As for the sign of the times, today I went to my favorite grocery type store – the Grocery Outlet (or as my good friend Darren calls it, the Gross Out).  The Grocery Outlet is basically the Ross/Marshalls/TJ Maxx/Tuesday Morning/Home Goods of grocery products.  For example, I can get a 4 pack of Kombucha Wonder Drink for $3.  I can barely get one Kombucha drink for that price.  I noticed today, when I pulled into the parking lot, which is usually about a quarter full, was now almost completely full!  The place was packed because everyone is doing their best to save as much as they can of their paycheck.  I also noticed, on the drive home, there were 3 houses on the lake that were up for sale. This is unheard of as any property that sits on Lake Washington is a hot commodity.  But with the taxes for such property being around $20,000 (and I wish I were kidding on that) it seems like people are ready to give up that luxury.

