Well, it looks like my first semester at hogwarts is almost over.  I was so close to getting the snitch the other day and I missed it by seconds.  I guess there’s next semester.  I have to say, this was probably one of the best swaps I’ve done.  I’ve had a blast and i can’t wait to sign up for the next semester!

I have been doing a lot of cleaning up and throwing out of things.  I watched the Oprah “Clear the Clutter” episode and had a bit of a freakout.  So now I’m trying to be more organized and neater as well as become a bit more eco-friendly.  I’ve found the wonders of freecycle!  It’s great!  I wanted a pair of computer speakers so I could listen to my podcasts and audio books while I clean the house.  But I just couldn’t see paying for them.  It was a want and not a need.  So I hopped on freecycle and posted that I was looking for some computer speakers and within a couple of hours, someone had a pair that they were getting rid of!  Perfect!  I didn’t have to spend money and someone else didn’t have to fill up a landfill with some more plastic and electronic parts. I can’t believe I just found out about this!

I also donated 5 garbage bags of clothes that I probably haven’t worn in years.  Since I don’t really have a lot of closet space, I got a storage trunk for the foot of my bed that now holds towels, blankets and sheets and whatnot.  I’m hoping that next week I can head back over to the Container Store and pick up one of the hanging space bags to put in a few nice things that are hanging in my closet.  Along with a few other things to help keep me neat and organized.

I also bought a Chinook Book from my boss for her son’s school fundraiser.  Now that I started thumbing thru it, I’m not sure how I lived without .  It was $20 and within a few uses of the Chinook book, it will have paid for itself!

Other than that, things have been a bit slow around here.  I’ve been knitting up a storm.  Mostly dishclothes for the family.  I want to carry on grandma’s tradition of making those for family and friends.  Actually, my cousin reminded me that today is grandma’s birthday.  She would have been 91.  I think of all the things she’s seen and done in her life and I can only hope that I can have only half of her “go with the flow and be able to adjust to whatever the circumstance” attitude.

And on that note, I head back to my knitting… for grandma.

