Scroll award

Scroll award

Man oh man… it’s all homework here at Hogwarts…

What yarn shop did Henry Longstaff shop at for yarn? Mrs. Mac’s
Who is the HSKS6 SPEW coordinator? Clidonia Acromantula
Which Gryff student just returned from London? Lady Felula The Forgetful
Which Gryffindor has cats named after the muggle rock band, The Ramones? Dagmara Grindelwald
What is your favorite childhood television program (Magic or Muggle)? The Muppets
What is your favorite adult television program (Magic or Muggle)? It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Flight of the Conchords, The Office, the Daily Show and the Colbert Report are all number 1 in my book.
Which travel destination did you last visit? Upstate New York to visit mom and dad and the rest of my family, with a side trip to NYC to visit a couple of good friends from college.
What was your last finished object (FO)? I finished something for my HSKS06 swap partner.  I don’t want to say what just yet… I’ll post it when she gets her package in a few days 🙂
How many project(s) planned for holiday gifts? How many do you expect to actually finish and give? I’m hoping I can get all 4 done.  That’s all I’m planning on doing.  I know my limits… at least I think I do.
Who is the mother of Half Blood Prince? Elieen Prince
Which Weasley became engaged in Book 6 (Half Blood Prince)? Bill
What is the result of a Sectumsempra curse? Snape is the one who wrote it in his potions book and Harry used it on Draco Malfoy.
Who used a Bezoar to reverse poisoning? Harry used it on Ron

Well, we didn’t find the snitch, but it was a lot of fun trying.  It’s a shame I stink at riddles and such. Maybe I’ll grab a few riddle books from the library to try and practice up for the next round.

I saw my nutritionist today.  We talked about changing my diet a bit to be more cancer free.  If that makes any sense.  Here’s the key points:

the darker the fruit or veg the better it is for you.

Cod liver oil is an anti-inflammatory

Where ever possible choose “raw”  whole milk and if raw whole milk is not available then go whole organic

Where ever possible choose grass fed or pasture finished meats

Check the labels and don’t eat anything with ingredients that you don’t know what it is

And no high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils and food coloring.

I know, the commercial says that high fructose corn syrup is just corn.  Apparently, in order to make high fructose corn syrup, you need to be in a full biohazard outfits.  How can that be good for you, if they can’t come in contact with it while they’re making it.  I don’t make pies while wearing a respiratory mask and asbestos glove on for protection.

Speaking of pies, I made an amish sugar cream pie this weekend (I made it before seeing the nutritionist… get off my back).  It’s like eating sweetened condensed milk in a pie crust.  I think my blood sugar level must be off the charts because of that pie.  I might have become diabetic because of that pie.

Oh and here’s a few pictures of the vacation.  Sorry it took me so long to get around to posting a couple.  These are from the Farmer’s Museum in Cooperstown.

First – Mom and Dad

Mom and Dad at the Farmers Museum

Mom and Dad at the Farmer's Museum

Looking into one of the buildings.  I think this was the apothecary’s office.

Looking in the Window

Looking in the Window

What do sheep do when it’s hot out?  Apparently lean up against a fence to get shade.

Sheep in the Shade

Sheep in the Shade

Some yarn being dyed with natural dyes over an open flame in a cast iron kettle

Yarn Dying

Yarn Dying

And this one answers the age old question – What’s up?

A chickens bum when it eats

A chicken's bum when it eats

Answer – a chicken’s bum when it eats.

And the last thing.  I made this scarf for mom while I was home.  It’s from the Knitalong book.  It wasn’t blocked when I took the photo.  But you get the idea.

scarf for mom

scarf for mom

