Me!

Me!

That’s me.

Me and my feet at the Brooklyn Bridge

Me and my feet at the Brooklyn Bridge

That’s me and my feet at the Brooklyn Bridge.

It was one heck of a vacation.  It was pretty darn hot and humid for the first part of the trip.  Dad and I went to Canajoharie to see the Arkell Museum.  It’s a small little museum but it has a nice collection of American art.  On the way back from Canajoharie, we stopped at Kateri Tekawitha Shrine.  Now, I remember going here when I was a little kid.  I feel like I was in grade school, but it might have been with mom and dad to see Father Pat, a friend of the family.  From what my dad tells me, Father Thomas Grassman had quite a lot of american indian artifacts.  Unfortunately, the little museum that they have is in disrepair.  It’s kind of sad to see.  But it was a beautiful day and I was hanging out with dad.

I went to NYC to visit some friends from college.  I had a blast.  I forgot how much I missed them.  We had some of the best food I’ve ever had.  We ate at Lil’ Frankie’s Pizza.  The food was amazing.  I can’t even begin to describe how good the food was.  After Lil’ Frankie’s, we went over to Pianos and grabbed a drink.  Unfortunately we had just missed Arj Barker and we also just missed the Rock Trivia.  We had a drink or two and watch one of the former contestants from America’s Next Top Model sing something… I’m not sure what it was.  I’m not sure if it was the booze or I am just so out of the touch with what the cool kids listen to.  After that we headed over to Spitzer’s Corner.  I have never seen a beer menu that large before.  In any case, we had a drink and listened into the conversation that the bartender (a perky gal, who just got a part in something) talking to a nice gay guy about how straight guys are never named Brent.  Yeah… it was a real deep conversation.  Everyone was beautiful and I had frizzy, big, it’s humid out curly gal hair.  I had this funny flash of the bartender as Koco in Fame. After that we called it a night.

The next morning I met up with my one friend and grabbed breakfast at Clinton Street Baking Company. We must have got there at just the right time because we were able to get a table and eat without having to wait for hours.  It was one of the best breakfast joints I have ever been to.  Please forgive me Geraldines.  After that we grabbed a coffee at this teeny little spot.  The coffee reminded me of Caffe Vita coffee or Caffe Trieste coffee.  That got me going and I was off and running for the rest of the day.  I made it to Purl in Soho.  Those ladies were so nice and that store was soooo small.  They had to go outside and down the basement via the basement door on the sidewalk to get my yarn (Habu textiles – the yarn for the Kusha Kusha scarf).  I didn’t make it to their fabric store because I knew I would spend way too much money on fabric I have no idea what I would use it for.  After that I hit Pearl River and then I was off to Ground Zero.  It was strange as the last time I was in NYC was in the early 90s.  So I will always picture the New York skyline with the twin towers.  It was a little strange.  I guess so much time had passed, that while, people still remember what happened, it still felt like someone was putting in a new condo development or something.  I went to St. Paul’s Chapel and took some pictures of all the old gravestones.  I’m facsinated by old gravestones.  I think it all goes back to the time I took an archeology class at Helderburg workshop and we did some gravestone rubbings.  Kinda morbid but pretty interesting.  After that I headed to Brooklyn and went to the Lomographic Society and picked up a Diana camera with a flash and a telephoto lens.  I have to say I was soooo excited about this.  I’m such a huge Lomo dork.  I took many pictures of the Brooklyn Bridge.  I wanted to walk across it but I I couldn’t figure out where I needed to go to to get to the walking path across it.  Then I headed back into Manahattan.  I went to the Muji store for a friend and picked up some stuff for her and it was back to homebase before heading out for the night.

We ended up going to Peppe Rosso.  Again, another dang fine meal.  Then we headed over to a bar called Louis 649.  I believe it was there 4 year anniversary party.  We had a few drinks – a Pisco Sour and an Averna flip, and then a couple of guys walked in.  I knew I knew then from somewhere.  It took me a minute, but I realized that they were a couple of the guys on Make Me a Supermodel.  It was 2 days of reality tv models for me.  Then we went for one more final drink over at the Sunburnt Cow. We had something called Moo Juice.  Not as bad as it sounds.  I promise.  Then it was off to bed.

The next morning I got up and went back to the Clinton Street Bakery for breakfast and then headed back upstate to hear the news of mom’s biopsy.

My mom has cancer.  It’s strange to type that phrase.  You always think of your parents as invincible when you’re a kid.  You tend to not question that until a phrase like, ” I have breast cancer,” is said.  the good news is, it’s not a lump.  It’s more of just a gang of cancer cells.  Kinda like a gang of bullies beating up the good cells for their lunch money.  On Thursday we met with the surgeon who will be doing my mom’s lumpectomy.  Dad and I were with her when the surgeon gave her all her options.  the funny thing is, is that the surgeon is a knitter and a flyfisher.  So she would go back and forth between giving mom her options and explaining everything for us, to talking dad questions about fishing and talking to me about knitting.  Since my grandmother (my mom’s mom) had ovarian cancer, that means my mom’s risk of ovarian cancer is much larger now that she has breast cancer.  Mom decided to have the genetic test done to determine if she has the BRCA1 and BRCA2 gene.  If it turns out she does, then I will take that information to my doctor and I might need tohave the same genetic test done depending on what my doctor thinks.  It may just mean that I have to start having mammograms now instead of at 40.  Throughout all of this, we, as a family, could still laugh.  I think that is one of our best traits as a family.  Nothing is too awful that we can’t make each other laugh. After meeting with the doctor, we all felt better about things and headed home.

The next day I went with dad to take Grandma to her the doctor for her pre-admission testing for her biopsy.  I can honestly say, after the past couple of months, if I never see another doctor or hospital again, I’ll be thrilled.  I can probably tell you everything you ever wanted to know about biopsies.

Then on Saturday we headed to Coopertown to go to the Farmer’s Museum, the Fenimore Museum and to the Baseball Hall of Fame.    I remember the Farmer’s museum from when I was a little kid.  Maybe I’m taking after my dad, but I kinda enjoy going to museums.  We never went to Disneyland or Disneyworld when I was a kid.  And I think I’m better off for it.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ll get on a roller coaster and scream like a girl and I’ll ride the teacups all day long, but I enjoy going to a museum just as much.  The Fenimore museum was great. It is such a beautiful estate.  It makes me wish I could live in some of those old estate houses.  By the time we got to the Baseball Hall of Fame it was almost closing time, so I headed to the gift shop to grab a few gifts for some friends.  I have to say I was somewhat disappointed.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a Red Sox fan, but there are several other teams besides the Red Sox and the Yankees.

The next day I was back on the plane and heading back to Seattle.  Today was kind of a rough day.  Things were slow at work and all I wanted to do was be back on vacation.  Oh well… I guess I’ll just have to start planning the next vacation.

I’ll try and post some more pictures from my vacation.  But right now I’m darn tired of typing and sitting in front of this computer.

