I’m so ready to go on vacation.  I think the last time I took this much time off was in 2001 when I went to Australia.  I’m not going across the world this time.  I’m just heading back east to spend time with family and friends.  I’ll be heading to NYC for a few days to spend time with some good friends from college.  I hope they take it easy on me.  I’m an old fart, so staying out past 10 is a late night for me 🙂  The last time I was in NYC, there were still prostitutes in Times Square, The Pop Shop and CBGBs were still open and Unique was one of the coolest stores around.  Now I’m just looking forward to going to a few museums, checking out Purl Soho and Habu Textiles(if it’s more than just a showroom) and Pearl River.  Part of me would also like to go to Mood just because it’s on Project Runway.  I have no idea what I would do with all that fabric.  I’m really looking forward to hopefully, picking up the Habu Textiles Kusha Kusha scarf kit.  It’s almost impossible to get here.  It sells out quickly and then you have to wait about 2 months for it.  I’m “instant gratification girl.”  If I see something I’d like to and have the money to purchase, I want to run to the store and get it.  I don’t want to have to wait for it.  I suppose 2 months is not that long of a wait, and it is only $25 or so for the whole kit…

My friend Darren just got me the new Langhorne Slim album – best lyric on the album is from “Hummingbird.” The lyric is, “…now I’m dreaming of leaving my demons and the first one I’m leaving is you.”  That’s one to embroider on a sampler.

I also came across another wish list christmas present (along with the Wii and the Wii fit) it’s a waterproof iPod shuffle!  This makes me so happy.  I will never have to sing to myself while doing laps ever again.  I’m sure all the people at the pool will be so happy as I only seem to remember a few choice lines and part of the chorus.  I’d also be willing to be that I’m a bit off key… ok tone deaf.

I also joined a Harry Potter themed knitting swap.  That’s right I’m a total geek at 35 years old.  I love the Harry Potter series.  Now that I think about it, I may even load the last book onto my ipod for the plane ride back east.

PS – Jen, I will be making you a teddy bear just like the white one 🙂

