So my race was less than stellar, but I powered thru and did it.  I started off ok on the swim but couldn’t find an opening.  Then, shortly after rounding the first buoy, I re-injured myself.  That muscle pull that I had a couple of weeks ago, well, it came back.  I made it thru the swim and got back to the transition area (Erin said i had a greenish grey hue about me…) and got on my bike.  Just shy of Mt. Baker Beach is where my chain decided to pop off.  I thought I had it on a couple of times, but after 10/15 minutes it got back on.  I spent a good portion of the bike trying to decide if I should end my race.  By the time i got back to my transition area, I was feeling good enough to run/walk, so I went for it.  My run/walk was a lot nicer than the swim and bike.  Probably because I had already gone thru the worst of it.  By the time I got into the finish line chute, I was still in pain, but I decided that i needed to get this race over with.  So I gunned it.  I heard the announcer say, “Looks like someone’s got a little something left in the tank.  That’s Becky Morrette out there.”  Really, there was nothing left in the tank, I just needed to get ice on my injury.  I didn’t have a great time.  But will I do it again, Yes.  Definitely.  That’s how I know I’m a triathlete… or maybe a little nuts 🙂  All in all I finished in 2 hours and 8 minutes.  Not my best time.  On the plus side, that’s about 10 minutes or so off from my normal pace.  So even with all the drama, I still did ok.

All the ladies from our training group that I saw, looked great and I’m so proud of all of them.  I’m like a momma bird who’s little baby birds have all learned to fly!

