First, let me just share a picture that sums up summer for me. it’s Jimbo, soaking in the sun.

Jimbo Relaxing

Jimbo Relaxing

Today I had to pick up my race packet. They give you your timing chip, you swim cap, race numbers for your bike and for the run, tshirt, all in a bag with a bunch of flyers for other races and some other little freebies. After that, you get marked.

The Mark of a Triathlete

The Mark of a Triathlete

Then you get to spend the rest of the day walking around with numbers written on your body with a sharpie. To those people walking around the city who have never done a triathlon, it just looks like you were the first to pass our last night and your friends couldn’t remember how to spell boner, so some other obscene words. But to me, its like the mark of an elite club that anyone can join but only a few do. These marks empower me and make me feel stronger and make me realize that I can do something that most people can’t really do. Either that, or I’m just crazy enough to want to do three sports in one race.

I knew that the buoys would be up this evening and that the transition area would also be set up. So I decided to go down to the lake and take pictures so that those who have never done a tri or are thinking of doing a tri, can see what the set up is.

Here’s the few from the swim start. The red circles are the buoys. The swim is counter clockwise around the buoys.

Swim start

Swim start

Once you get back to the beach, you have to run thru the transition area to where you racked your bike. Here’s the view from the beach to the transition area.

Transition area view from the beach

Transition area view from the beach

What’s the bike rack look like? Here it is without anything on it.

Racking in the transition area

Racking in the transition area

It’s like a ballet bar. The bikes are alternated and they hang by the seat. So one seat will be on the left side of the rack and the next one will be on the right side of the rack. This is a great example of what a transition area will look like.

And here’s the view from that rack back to the beach.

View from the rack

View from the rack

That the bike, re-rack you bike and then you throw on your running shoes, and head to the run start. After that, it’s a run to the finish line!

And on that note, it’s time for me to get my gear ready and get a good night’s sleep.

