On Saturday my friend and I headed out to the first day of the Sub Pop 20th Anniversary Shows.  The line up for Saturday was awesome!  Here’s the line up:

Obits, Constantines, Eric’s Trip, Seaweed, The Helio Sequence, Pisses Jeans, Fleet Foxes, The Fluid, Low, Mudhoney, The Vaselines, Iron and Wine, Flight of the Conchords.

They had two stages and one band would play on one stage and when their set, then the next band would play on the other stage.  I think this is the first concert I’ve been to where the bands were on time.  There were tons of young hipsters there as well as us old timers (all of 35 years old).  There were a lot of kids – the 3-10 age group, as well as infants.  They all seemed to have in ear plugs or were wearing those big huge headset things that people who are flagging in planes wear.  It was great people watching if you weren’t into the band that was playing at the time.  And me, being the old fart that I am, brought my knitting.  So I spent a good portion of the day knitting.  The other thing I noticed was that when the older bands (the bands that helped make Sub Pop, Sub Pop) hit the stage, the young hipsters left the front of the stage and the older folks would run up to the stage. And when the newer bands hit the stage, the older folks went back to their seats and the young hipsters ran up to the stage.

We got there in time to hear Seaweed, which rocked it.  After that, it was the Helio Sequence and while I like them, I guess they sound a little too much like the Postal Service and Death Cab for Cutie.  So I kinda tuned them out a bit.  Pissed Jeans, weren’t really my cup of tea.  The Fleet Foxes were amazing.  They had a bit of the Crosby Still Nash and Young kind of harmonies to them, with some Beach Boys influence, perhaps…The Fluid, again, rocked it.  And by this time in the day, people were really starting to get a bit drunk.  Usually that’s when fights break out, but no fights.  Just a lot of drunken hipster messes walking around.  Low, was amazing.  Mudhoney still can blow a place out.  They were rocking!  The Vaselines, who got back together just for this, were full of energy and seemed like they were really having a great time.  They were great.  And then Iron and Wine came on.  He has such and amazing voice and one hell of an ability to write a beautiful song.  Again, awesome.  Then it was time for the Flight of the Conchords.  While people were there to see other bands, I think Flight of the Conchords was the one band that we were all there to see.  And they did not disappoint.  At one point during their set, some dude threw a pair of boxers up on stage.  Then the had Todd Barry come out and play bongos with them during Business Time.  All in all it was a good day.

This morning I got up and headed down to the lake and meet up with some more friends and my swim coach and did a half mile swim – sans wetsuit.  Actually, I started with the wetsuit and I was getting winded swimming and I was having a hard time getting full extension with my arms.  So I swam back to shore, took off the wetsuit and hit the water again.  It was so much easier without the wetsuit.  Turns out, my shoulders are getting bigger from all the swimming.  So now the wetsuit doesn’t really fit properly.  At this point in the game, I’m not going to worry about it.  All the lakes are warm enough to be able to swim without it.  And I don’t really need the extra bouyancy.  I guess, at first it was just a security blanket.

