I started the Hemlock Ring Blanket.  And after a couple of tries and some choice words for double pointed needles, I finally got it up and running.  I’m now on the dreaded Row 14 where it asks you to work 9 stitches into 1 stitch.  I’m not quite sure how to do that.  So I’ll probably try it out on a test swatch before attacking the blanket.

I went to the So Much Yarn sale with a list in hand and what was left of my gift card from Christmas.  I got there at 8:45am and there was already a line.  It wasn’t too long, but it was freezing, windy and starting to rain.  When 9am hit, they opened the door and I think we were all so happy that we were in a heated space that it took a minute before the shopping really began.  I knew exactly what I wanted and got it.  Then I walked around a bit to see if there was anything else I couldn’t live without.  The unfortunate thing is that there was a ton of things I couldn’t live without.  But the realistic part of me said, don’t get anymore than what you need.  I didn’t have any other patterns that I wanted to do.  So instead of buying a skein or two of something I figured it was best that I just hit the register and leave with what I needed.  Maybe next year I’ll have a list of the patterns I want to do and the yarn that I’ll need.  This way I’ll have most of my knitting planned out for the next year or so.

