The trip home was great. It’s always nice to go back home. But within a day or two, I got a nasty head cold. I was hoping it would be gone by the time the time I got on the plane to come back to Seattle, but it wasn’t. The flights back to Seattle were painful. I even tried those Earplane things and they kinda helped, but it was still painful. I’m hoping that today is the last day of the bad stuff and I’ll be able to go back to work tomorrow.

Thanksgiving was great. I was able to spend it with my parents, my grandma and my aunt, uncle and my cousin. We all over ate. Which is a Thanksgiving day tradition. We watched the Thanksgiving day parade. Another tradition. We spend the whole time waiting for Santa and wondering if his pants are going to fall down again. When I was little we were watching the parade and santa’s pants fell down and my dad laughing non stop. I remember what they showed on screen was like when Regan was shot. It was craziness. The only difference is, no one was shot. We just found out if Santa wore boxers or briefs.

The day after Thanksgiving we decided to brave the shoppers and go to the mall. By the time we got to the mall at 11 or so, it was quite. It was strange. We then went to one of the local bookstores – the Open Door. It’s a great little bookstore. And locally owned.

The next day was grandma’s 90th birthday party. Which was great. We all met at the Turf Tavern back in Scotia. We had a photographer there so we could all have our picture taken with grandma. There were three generations of kids there. We had the whole family picture, then the kids and grandma. Then the kids and their kids with grandma, then the grandkids with grandma, then the great grandkids with grandma. It was a really special day. So I hope grandma had a good time. I took some photos and I’ll post them, but I’m starting to fade. So I’ll finish up my post and take a nap.

and now… for the weekly Winter Wonderland Coffee Swap question (sorry I missed last weeks):

What is the ideal setting for enjoying the perfect cup of coffee? In my pj’s bundled up on the couch watching a movie or the news. Or at Geraldine’s for breakfast. Who would be there – or would you be alone? Inside or out? Morning or night? With food or just the steaming cup of joe?  Someone special, friends  and family.  Definitely inside at this time of year.  And definitely morning for breakfast… french toast, pancakes, eggs, and if nothing else.. bacon.  

